Resources and Learning The Chakras 

The Chakras – what are they? 

Chakra’ is the Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’ or disc/turning circle and is often depicted by a lotus flower, said to resonate at different frequencies, and corresponding to the colours of the rainbow -an energy centre spinning like a wheel and opening like a flower. 
There are hundreds of locations within the body where there is a focus or concentration of energy, but healers traditionally use the 7 major centres. Each chakra has a corresponding relationship to one fo the various glands on the body’s endocrine system. According to Hindu tradition these seven main energy centres are ’embedded’ metaphysically in the spinal column, from the coccyx to the crown of the head. Their function is to push vital life energy energy (KI, CHI or PRANA) through the body to ensure vitality. 
The Chakras receive, assimilate and radiate energy constantly. In perfect health the Chakras spin in a clockwise direction, radiating clear bright energy. The purpose of working with the Chakras is to bring an integration of the physical body with the spiritual body. 

Base/Root Chakra – Muladhara – ‘I have’ 

Located at the base of the spine- coccyx. Resonates more slowly than the rest and is associated with the colour red, a four petalled lotus and the sound of ‘Lam’. It is the Chakra of survival and physical security, affected by thoughts and feelings about physical safety, needs such as food, clothing, warmth, love, possessions, finances, career and home. It i related to the earth. 
The associated gland is the adrenal producing adrenalin for fight and flight response, connected to metabolism of fats, carbohydrates, proteins and body salt. The associated body parts are the legs, bones, large intestine lungs and respiration. 

Sacral Chakra – Svadisthana – ‘I feel’ 

Located in the lower abdomen, associated with the colour orange, six petalled lotus and the sound of ‘Vam’. It is the chakra of emotions, relationships, sharing, sexual identity and sex. It is related to water. Affected by thoughts and feelings about cravings for physical pleasures, such as food, drink, thrill seeking, addiction to substances, weight and appearance, relationships. 
The associated organs are the reproductive organs and the urinary tract (kidneys and bladder). 

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura – ‘I can’ 

Located in the Solar Plexus region, about 2 inches above the navel. Associated with the colour yellow, a ten petalled lotus and the sound of ‘Ram’. It is the Chakra of self determination, autonomy, purpose, destiny, will power, authority and self empowerment. It is the centre of Prana or Energy and is related to Fire. Affected by thoughts of being a powerful person, obsession with power, control or fear of loss of control both of others and oneself. 
The organs are the digestive system, liver, spleen, stomach small intestine and pancreas. 

Hearth Chakra – Anahata – ‘I love’ 

Located in the Heart region. Associated with the colour green, a twelve petalled lotus and the sound of ‘Yam’. It is the Chakra of unconditional love, universal compassion and relates to Air. Affected by thoughts about love, romantic, platonic familial love to others and oneself, people attachment, forgiveness and acceptance, giving and receiving, contentment. 
The organs connected are the thymus gland, circulatory system, heart, lungs, arms and hands. 

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha – ‘I speak’ 

Located in the Throat area. Associated with the colour blue, a sixteen petalled lotus and the sound of ‘Ham’. It is the Chakra of communication and relates to sound and ether. Affected by thoughts and feelings about speaking the truth to yourself and others, asking for your needs to be met by partner, friends, colleagues – communication on all levels to all people in any form. Also associated with hearing, active listening. 
Organs connected are thyroid gland and parathyroid gland, hypothalamus, throat, nose, teeth, mouth, ears and neck. 

Brow Chakra/Third Eye – Ajna – ‘I see’ 

Located in the forehead between the eyes. Associated with the colour Indigo, a two petalled lotus and the sound of ‘Om’. It is the Chakra of clairvoyance, imagination, insight, intuition, peace of mind, wisdom, perception and is related to light. Affected by thoughts and feelings about the future, the past. 
The organs connected are the eyes, base of skull and the pituitary and pineal gland. 

Crown Chakra – Sahasvara – ‘I know’ 

Located at the top of the head. Associated with the colour Violet or White, a thousand petalled lotus and the sound/mantra contains all 52 beeja mantras of the Sanskrit alphabet. Not really a Chakra as such but the abode of highest consciousness. It is the Chakra of understanding and knowing and related to thought. Affected by thoughts and feeling of the ‘Divine’, unification with the higher self, divine wisdom, idealism. 
The associated organs are the pineal gland, upper skull, cerebral cortex, central nervous system and skin 

Enquiry Form 

Fill in the form below and a member of the team will contact you back shortly... 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings